just jabberwocky, dedicated to the planet Tramalfadore

The flash, incendiary,

was cruel to loquat,

and ‘pretty little Lily’

missed the vimpa.

I think it’s tiresome

but now everyone bowns antremonstrant,

and we all know the poems come from Handybilly and Vinylite.

A place where they’ve all been before:

No wonder Horneophyton

was nonloxodromic

It’s perfect, it’s parallel

It’s structured

It’s neat, and

Provera and Media gave a subwink.

It’s time in a bundle

Of sweat, tears and blood, the meat of my memories,

cloisonné and —

and full of tearableness

Recurring and lasting

Impending Doom has Hope on the other end

Calling her “baby,” and predelinating Her Tethys

Her sputtering froth

Her

death

In the fugue

Follow the threads

Go back to the end

Acetylize the chrysolepis

Preallude to the nontraceability

  1. #1 by Kenny on February 21, 2010 - 2:59 pm

    I’m very happy to read your work!

    • #2 by La La on February 21, 2010 - 3:06 pm

      why thank-you, sir….

      this particular piece has been through A LOT of strange and convoluted editings. I daresay it is not done yet.

      It didn’t start out as a Lewis Carrol “Jabberwocky” poem but then we had to write a poem in that form for my graduate poetry class I’m taking at U of M and the original of this always fell flat for me. It seemed to be jumping up and down, raising its hand, saying, “pick me, pick me” for your Jabberwocky. And I couldn’t find a reason not to.

      I want to do more with this one: EXTEND it a page and do some artwork with it for the chapbook coming out this spring.

  2. #3 by faern on February 25, 2010 - 6:22 am

    love

Leave a Reply

