Gorgeous Vintage Redesign, an interview with Velvet Otterhound in San Francisco

Dress up for the grown-ups: Welcome to the unbelievably unusual and stunning vintage redesigned jewelry of Velvet Otterhound.

Nouveau Angel Fairy and Baroque Pearl Necklace and Brooch- Vintage Redesign
Nouveau Angel Fairy and Baroque Pearl Necklace and Brooch- Vintage Redesign

Rhinestone Lion Tassel Silver Necklace- Vintage Redesign
Rhinestone Lion Tassel Silver Necklace- Vintage Redesign

How did you get into vintage jewelry? Who or what inspires you?

VO: I was born in SF and my grandmother had tons of fabulous jewelry and clothes from the 40s and 50s. I got used to that type of styling. After she died our attic was filled with her stuff. I used to play up there, wrapping real fox stoles around my neck and putting on her jewelry.

Drawer Handle Flower Abalone Brass and Silver Necklace- Vintage Redesign

Drawer Handle Flower Abalone Brass and Silver Necklace- Vintage Redesign

How did you start to get seriously into jewelry making?

VO: My family moved to Clearlake, CA., and when I got into my teen years I got more into wearing jewelry, but Clearlake doesn’t have much in the way of jewelry stores and it was before the internet. I was left to find old pieces at the church thrift stores and re-make them into something I liked.

Nouveau Angel Fairy and Baroque Pearl Necklace and Brooch- Vintage Redesign

Nouveau Angel Fairy and Baroque Pearl Necklace and Brooch- Vintage Redesign

 

What’s a memorable piece you have made?

VO: My wedding necklace in 2006 was made from one of my grandmother’s earrings.

Nouveau Silver Bird and Faceted Jade Necklace- Vintage Redesign

Nouveau Silver Bird and Faceted Jade Necklace- Vintage Redesign

How would you describe your work?

VO: I kind of get a little more fantastical with my pieces. They make me happy!

Just in time for Valentine's Day! Vintage redesigned necklaces for $35 and under.

42 “Answer to the Ultimate Question” Necklace

Silver clam and pearl

Red Siam Silver Inlay

Paris Charm and Garnet

Ruby Red Carved Lucite Flowers

  1. #1 by Chris on January 30, 2010 - 6:31 pm

    Very Nice. Really needs a link. http://www.etsy.com/shop/velvetotterhound

  2. #2 by La La on January 30, 2010 - 7:12 pm

    GOOD CALL! THX!

    Done and done…see new intro!

    MeoW XoxO ~ La

  1. it’s the little things, a moment in time spanned with faernworks « La La Luv U

Leave a Reply

